Pasadena

30 08 2008

I’m here now – in sunny Pasadena, California.  I arrived at LAX on Wednesday morning with the two suitcases, one duffle bag, and one laptop bag I was able to get on the plane.  If there was any doubt about whether I was in L.A. or not, it was soon to be dispelled by my drive from the airport to Pasadena.  (I have a rental car for a week).

The driving itself was enough to convince me that I was, indeed, in L.A.  The drivers here certainly are among the craziest I’ve ever seen.  …I couldn’t count the number of times I had to “press firmly” on the brakes in order to keep from hitting someone (generally someone that had cut me off, then slammed on his brakes).  At one point on the freeway I had to merge two or three times because my lane kept ending… and despite that, there were still 4 or 5 lanes of traffic.  I wouldn’t say I was nervous driving, but I would say it is the most intense driving situation I’ve ever been in.

The road signs along the way were also helpful in indicating that I was, in fact, in California.  For example, I saw signs for: “Hollywood,” “Dodger Stadium,” and the “Rose Bowl.”  …all places I will probably never go.

I arrived at Fuller (Pasadena) sometime in the early afternoon and was able to get into my apartment fairly soon afterward.  It’s not bad… not fantastic, but not bad.  At present it is annoyingly empty – not only in terms of residents (myself being the only one), but in terms of furnishings.  …I did, however, go to the store to buy a camping chair and a lamp.  Also, my three roommates will be here sometime in the next few weeks.

Here is a picture taken from our balcony.  Unfortunately I couldn’t get a picture of the mountains (to the right)… because our building is in the way.

View from the balcony

View from the balcony

The day after I arrived I had a meeting with an academic advisor to go over the MDiv program, to talk about what classes I might want to take during my first quarter, and to talk about my time at Fuller in general.  The classes I will be taking in the Fall quarter (starting at the end of Sept) are: Beginning Greek (will continue through the winter and spring quarters), New Testament: Acts-Revelation (a survey class), and Church in Mission.  True, that’s only three classes, but it is considered full-time here.

So that’s what I’ve been up to these past couple of days.  I should begin blogging more frequently now that I’m back in an academic environment and will soon be a part of a community.

Next step: find a job.  …wish me luck.

Actions

Information

One response

1 09 2008
J Fry

Spiffy man! That’s got to be exciting to finally be in CA. I hope that the job hunting goes well! Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

