Getting organized

28 09 2008

As the Fall quarter kicks off, I’m attempting to get more organized… something I desperately need to do. I’ve created a GTD (Getting Things Done) Moleskine that I’m going to attempt to utilize. I ran across the idea on Wess Daniels’ blog (he’ll be the TA in one of my classes this quarter)… and thought I’d give it a try.

I’m also starting to use “Delicious” – a way to organize and keep all your bookmarks online… that way you have them, no matter what computer you are on. It also makes it easy to categorize, group, and search your bookmarks (and those of other people). If you are on Delicious (or want to start) you can add me to your network.

I am also trying to organize my calendar a little better. The paper planner has worked well (read: sorta well) for me this last year, but it’s time to upgrade. I’m giving Google Calendar a try… which has a few perks: 1) I can access it from any computer. 2) I can have it send email reminders to me (so hopefully I won’t miss birthdays). 3) I can share my calendar(s) with others if I wish.

These are just a few ways I’m trying to organize my self at this point. Hopefully I’ll stumble upon some more things here in the future. Any suggestions? What has worked for you?

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 09 2008
Dan

For implementing GTD you can use this web-based application:

http://www.Gtdagenda.com

You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
A mobile version and iCal are available too.

29 09 2008
Tim

Thanks for the link Dan. For right now I’m going to stick with the paper & pencil method of the moleskine (I think, for now, this will work better for me). It’s nice to have something else to look at and get some ideas from though. Thanks!

29 09 2008
John Kendrick

Sounds like you may be interested in a post I just wrote for my blog at http://johnkendrickonine.com I discussed moving from a paper planner to an all electronic system, while retaining a paper journal. I also discuss the system I use that provides access to my GTD from any computer with a browser. John

Leave a Reply

