A commuity of communities

28 10 2008

I came across this “Church” … or “Network of Churches” …or “Community of Communities” the other day. I’ve never heard or seen anything like it before; which perhaps goes to show my lack of knowledge of things going on in the American church. (Or if I have seen anything like it, I don’t remember).

Basically it seems to be a number of smaller “simple churches”/communities that have sprung up in the Las Vegas area… organically, but intentionally. Each community, which consists of roughly 20-70 people, meets each week to share/live life together. (Apparently it’s more like a family gathering than an organization meeting). Then once a month or so all of the “simple churches” gather together for worship and teaching.

Actions

Information

One response

3 11 2008
Matthew French

Here’s a similar community in SoCal that I looked at a while back been writing my thesis. I don’t know if they are meeting near you, or if you would be interested but thought you might be interested. http://www.matthewshouse.com/
I also read Neil Cole’s, Organic Church while writing as well that talks about those kind of communities. I’m sure you have plenty of time to pick up side books right now!

Leave a Reply

