A New Year. A New Day.

2 01 2009

I have mixed emotions about celebrating the arrival of a new year.  On the one hand, the new year is a good opportunity to start anew.  To leave 2008 in the past and determine that 2009 will be better.  It’s a good time to set goals and make resolutions.  The beginning of a new year can be refreshing.

On the other hand, I’m trying to remind myself that the arrival of a new day is no less spectacular than the arrival of a new year.  Each is a gift.  Each can bring freshness.  Each brings with it the hope that tomorrow (or this next year) can be better than today.

2008 was mostly a good year.  I took a huge step (in the right direction, I believe) in moving to Pasadena to start seminary.  It hasn’t all been smooth sailing.  I’ve had my doubts and fears, wondering if I’m in the right place (which I believe I am).  I’m looking foward to 2009.  …and I’m looking forward to tomorrow.  To have a chance to breathe and move around and live.

Here are a few goals I’m thinking about for 2009:

  • Read at least 5 “classics”  (For example, I’m reading War and Peace right now)
  • Hike at least 100 miles
  • Exercise at least 3 times a week (Running, hiking, tennis, basketball, etc.  …the miles of walking I do around Pasadena every day does not count)
  • Memorize 6 poems
  • Blog at least once a week

Any suggestions on what “classics” to read?  …what poems to memorize?  …what topics to blog about?

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 01 2009
Phil

Maybe we can play bball and tennis someday….maybe.

Are you in J-Fry’s wedding?

3 01 2009
Matthew

Death Be Not Proud by John Donne

3 01 2009
Matthew

Tim, let’s read a classic together. How about Tale of Two Cities?

3 01 2009
tfounds

Phil – bball and tennis someday maybe sounds good. …maybe.

Matt – just read (and listened to) John Donne’s “Death Be Not Proud” …and I like it.
– And I’ve already read “A Tale of Two Cities” …but that was in high school, and all I remember is “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” So… yes, we should read it together. (But give me some time, because I’m only 175 pages into “War and Peace.”)

Leave a Reply

