So this is the “place”…

22 04 2009

A few weeks ago I was back in Indiana because my good friend Jason was getting married to this wonderful woman named Stacey.  Sadly I haven’t seen Jason nearly as much over the last three years as I would have liked… mainly due to the fact that I’ve been in either New York and California since graduation.  Spending the time with Jason that I was able to while I was in Indiana reminded me how much I really like him… how refreshing it is to be around him.

Being back in Indiana for the weekend was both refreshing and draining.  Draining because I felt like it was non-stop… there was so much to do and so many people to see.  I got into the Indianapolis airport late Thursday night (10:30 pm ish?) and left early Monday morning (6:45 am)… with a 3 hour drive to and from the airport.  And in between I was driving between Mishawaka, Warsaw, and Marion.

It was refreshing because of my time with Jason, and a couple of other reasons.

I was able to spend some time with my family… though it’s never nearly enough time.  We shared some great meals together, played the Wii together, and had an Easter egg hunt together.  Every time I visit my family I’m reminded what love looks like in action… and I’m reminded how lucky I am to have a family that genuinely loves being around each other.

I was also able to spend a few hours with some dear friends in Marion, IN.  We played a couple of games of Ticket to Ride.  Before falling asleep I had a good conversation with one friend about the past, the present, and the future.  After waking up I got to help another friend make breakfast while chatting about life (though admitedly all I did was flip the bacon).  I can’t even begin to explain how much these friends mean to me, and don’t know where I would be without them.

Returning to California this time after my brief visit to Indiana was the hardest it has ever been.

A few years ago I wrote a post on my old blog titled “Where is home?”  The conclusion I came to at the time was that I didn’t really have one.  I think about that post fairly regularly, and continue to ask the question.  I think being back in Indiana a few weeks ago answered the question.  Somewhere in the midst of the wedding, and being with my family, and being with my friends… I felt like I was home.

Actions

Information

One response

23 04 2009
Phil

Sounds like we’ll see you back in Indiana someday….or is home really just where your friends/family are (so if they all moved to say – Africa…your home would be Africa?!?!)

Ticket to Ride is a fun game….we played it at the Strahm Family Vacation ’08. All my tickets I drew were like 3 or 4 lengths…so I lost 😦

Leave a Reply

