Can I Watch?

6 08 2009

Walking to Starbucks this morning I had an absurd thought.  The thought was of me asking God, “Can I watch?”

Perhaps a little background would be helpful…  Two main things brought me to this question.  The first is that I recently re-read N.T. Wright’s Surprised by Hope – probably one of the books that has most influenced me.  The book speaks of resurrection (both the historical physical resurrection of Jesus and the future physical resurrection of you and I) and of the new/re-creation of heaven and earth.  There is this sense that right now God is sustaining the world and in small ways (in which we get to play a part) God is re-creating and renewing the world… but that at some point God will finally re-create it all.  (‘Finally’ in the sense of ‘finality’ not ‘well it’s about time!’).  It is this thought of God’s final new/re-creating of heaven and earth that was the first influence on this morning’s absurd thought.

The second was that on my walk this morning I had decided to listen to Everclear rather than any of my normal morning artists and/or sermons.   A few minutes of walking along with such happy songs as “Father of Mine” and “Wonderful” brought me to “Santa Monica” (the song, not the city… that would require a bus ride).  At one point in the song, the lyrics proclaim:

“We can live beside the ocean
Leave the fire behind
Swim out past the breakers
Watch the world die.”

So I had this picture of two people swimming out past the breakers to watch the world die… but I don’t want to watch the world die, I want to watch the world being re-created.  I want to watch the world being made new.

And so this morning I had this absurd thought.  There I am, standing before God, asking, “When you finally re-create the world, can I watch?”

…and of course I picture myself swimming out past the breakers, treading water in the middle of the ocean, watching God re-create the world.  All the while God is treading water right next to me, smiling, and saying over and over again with such joy and pleasure, “Watch this!  …and this!…”

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 08 2009
dan

Brilliant! I love that, thanks for sharing!

6 08 2009
tylercharles

Some beautiful imagery here.

I really enjoyed this, Tim.

-Tyler

6 08 2009
Phil

The personal imagination that God gives each one of us is perhaps one of the greatest aspects of humanity

7 08 2009
mlbeck

Ok, I’ll climb a tree and watch, then we can swap stories…

Leave a Reply

