I Dream of a Church (#4)

16 02 2011

I recently started a series of entries on my blog titled “I Dream of a Church.” These are a collection of thoughts, ideas, and questions from the last several years about what a church might look like. I don’t claim for any of these to be original, ground-breaking, or otherwise amazing. You can find other entries in this series by clicking here.

#4. I dream of a church where…

Children are valued. We learn from them and let them lead us in worship.

Children and youth are the church now, not the church of the future.

Again, this doesn’t seem like a very profound thought – but, I think, it is fairly foundational for a healthy church (it was also the next thing written in my notebook). I’ve seen some churches that have done this well, and others that haven’t done so well. I’ve seen some churches in which the youth are seen as the church of the future – “the church in training” – and I’ve seen others in which they are affirmed to be an actual, important part of the church today.

On the one hand, we certainly ought to be teaching, mentoring, and training today’s children and youth in the ways of life (including, but not limited to our faith). …if we don’t, who will? (Their peers, that’s who). On the other hand, we can’t be so stuck in our ways that we extinguish any thoughts, ideas, dreams, perspectives or passions that they have. Standing firm in our beliefs and practices, we must be open and flexible to new ways… new ways of worshipping, new ways of praying, new ways of relating, new ways of seeing things, new ways…

Thoughts? Concerns?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

