I Dream of a Church (#7)

25 02 2011

I recently started a series of entries on my blog titled “I Dream of a Church.” These are a collection of thoughts, ideas, and questions from the last several years about what a church might look like. I don’t claim for any of these to be original, ground-breaking, or otherwise amazing. You can find other entries in this series by clicking here.

#7. I dream of a church where…

Art and creativity are stressed.

If I am completely honest, I’m not the most artistic person I know. …not even close. My drawing and painting skills are relatively weak. I’m not much with clay or other modeling mediums. My poetry leaves something to be desired. I’ve never even attempted making anything with stained glass. My ability to play guitar (or any instrument, for that matter) is limited… to say the least. And my writing is average, at best.

I do, however, try. …and so, I at least like to consider myself somewhat creative. I have attempted to paint (and hope to pick it up again before too long). I have written bits of poetry… and even if they’re not award winners, I am proud of them. I would love to learn to create stained glass. I have built a fairly impressive locomotive using legos… and a train car out of popsicle sticks. I enjoy writing.

Actually, I enjoy creating.

God is a creator. …the Creator. If we’re made in God’s image, doesn’t that mean that we, too, are creators? Of course the answer is yes.

If so, shouldn’t we give more attention to things like art and creativity in the church? (Some churches do this quite well). Can’t we find ways to incorporate them in our worship services, education hours, and community life in general? Do we have members of our church/community that are especially skilled in painting?  – let’s line our halls with their work. Are there members who do amazing things with music? – let’s have them write a special hymn/song for us to sing together. Are there members talented with stained glass… pencil work… poetry… writing? – why not have them teach a class?

I dream of a church in which art and creativity are profoundly valued and used. I’ve had a few thoughts on this before: Creating Drama in the Church (the good kind); Let the Spectators Become an Entertainment to Themselves.

Thoughts? Questions? Disagreements?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

