My New Job

20 04 2016

I’ve been in my new job for five weeks now.

For the past five weeks I’ve come to this building:

YL Service Center

Every day for the last five weeks I’ve said good morning to the receptionist inside the front door. I’ve climbed the stairs to the second floor. I’ve used my badge to get through two security doors. And I’ve come to my cubicle:

Cubicle.jpg

After the first few days it was actually labeled as my cubicle:

Name Plate.jpg

I’ve never had a cubicle before.

I’ve never had a desk job before.

…but now I do. And I love it. (At least most of the time).

Let me tell you why.

I work at an organization called Young Life. Young Life’s mission is to introduce adolescents to Jesus Christ and to help them grow in their faith. This is important to me. I believe the way of Jesus is the best way. I believe the life that is possible through Jesus is the best life possible. I’ve felt that way for a long time. It’s the reason I got into youth ministry in the first place (though maybe I wouldn’t have said it that way in the beginning).

I’m still in youth ministry.

I might sit at a desk in a cubicle in a building all day… but I’m still in youth ministry. I might “just” be an administrative assistant… but I’m still in youth ministry. I’ve just got a different role for this season. (Let’s be honest… I was growing frustrated with church-based ministry – again – so this is probably a good change for a time).

In my role as an administrative assistant I get to play a support role. From my place behind the scenes I get to support and serve those that are “in the field.” …those that are more actively interacting with adolescents. I spend my day on the computer with spreadsheets and databases. I send approximately one million emails every day. If I’m lucky, I answer one phone call… a week. (I really, really don’t like phone calls).

But here’s the really cool thing – at least as far as I’m concerned. The people that I email every day… the people that I get to support and encourage… they live here:

Central and South America

And here:

Africa and Middle East

And here:

Asia

That is, I work with people ALL OVER THE WORLD. Every day.

More about that next time.

Actions

Information

One response

16 05 2016
Here’s the Deal: I Need Your Help | My Verse

[…] My New Job […]

Leave a Reply

