Here’s the Deal: I Need Your Help

16 05 2016

Katie and I have been back in Colorado for two months now. Two months – it seems so short, yet feels so long. I suppose that’s what happens when you move back to a city where you have a history… and that’s what happens when you leave people you’ll miss more than you realized at the start. Two months doesn’t seem like long… but it sure feels that way sometimes. It feels more like it has been two years since we’ve seen some of our dear friends in Kentucky. (And it feels like a lifetime since I’ve seen beloved faces from New York, California, and Indiana).

I’ve been trying to keep everyone up-to-date with what I’m doing by keeping a blog… every week or so. If you’ve missed some of those updates, you can find them here:

At the end of my last post I mentioned that I fundraise part of my salary. The question you probably have… (which I would probably have)… is: “Why?”

The truth is that lots of people who work with Young Life fundraise part of their salary. The truth is also that most of those people are missionaries of sorts. They’ve left their homes and are living in another country so they can tell people about God’s love. Others have stayed in their homes (around the world), and raise support so that they can devote themselves entirely to sharing God’s love. …that is, they raise support so they don’t have to work another job, but can give all of their time, energy, and focus to telling kids about Jesus.

I sit in a cubicle and write lots of emails, maintain more spreadsheets than I like to think about, collect stats and data, and try to answer questions for donors, country coordinators, and other staff.

I don’t live in another country.

I don’t devote all of my time, energy, and focus to directly telling kids about Jesus.

But what I do deeply matters. My role is instrumental to the mission: Introducing adolescents to Jesus Christ and helping them grow in their faith.

So why do I fundraise part of my salary? Simply so the vast majority of money donors give can go directly to the DGL students. (And so the DGL students don’t have to find a way to raise support, be good students, and be excellent Young Life leaders all at the same time).

Unfortunately I don’t have a sexy job. If you choose to support me in some way (which I hope you will), you won’t be able to brag to your friends and family that you are supporting a missionary in an exotic location. I won’t be able to tell you amazing stories about encounters with the locals. (Unless you count my encounters with folks at the Service Center in Colorado as “amazing” — which I probably would not).

But, if you do choose to support me, I am happy to say that YOU will be playing an important part in the mission of Young Life and the Developing Global Leaders program. You can join with me… as I join with staff and leaders around the world… to help introduce adolescents to Jesus Christ and to help them grow in their faith. You can help under-resourced, bursting-with-potential, eager-t0-serve, Christian leaders get a college education, receive leadership training, and embrace a mentoring relationship (all in their own country)… so that they can be leaders in their own neighborhoods and countries.

Let’s be honest about this: I hate asking for money. If I could, I would open a lemonade stand to raise the money to support myself.

But… that would take away the opportunity for YOU to join me.  …it would take away the chance for you to join what God is doing through the DGL program. (Yes, I actually believe that).

If you would like to support me, you can do so by clicking below:

Support Tim

If you choose to support me, you can do so with a one time gift… with a recurring monthly gift… or with a quarterly gift. (It’s pretty easy – you can use a bank account or credit card).

If you choose to support me, you can give as little or as much as you’d like.

  • $10/ month? Great!
  • $50/month? Great!
  • $100/month? Great!
  • $250/month? Great!  (I don’t think I know anyone in this range, right?)
  • $1000/month? Great! (Ok, that was a joke).

If you choose to support me… whether for $10 or $1000, I’ll buy you coffee or dinner sometime, and I’ll tell you all about the DGL programs and some of the stories of DGL students.

If you have any questions or concerns about giving… or if you’d just like to hear more before you decide if this is where God is asking you to spend some of your money… please don’t hesitate to call, email (tim.founds@gmail.com), stop by the house, or leave a message (here or on Facebook).

If you feel like this is NOT where God is asking you to invest some of your money right now – that’s ok. Really.

Thanks friends!

Grace and Peace and Love,

Tim

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

